The Castle

Property Information

• 2 Bedrooms • 1 Bathroom
$ 250 Price per week
Homestay Type
2 Room Available
Bus Stop
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Smoking Permitted
Brisbane, Queensland

Property Description

We are all COVID19 FREE as are most people residing in Queensland and our city Brisbane. We offer accomodation for stays of 1 month and longer but prefer 1 year. This includes laundry, and breakfast. Most of our guests are International homestay students or working holiday guests from China, Korea, Japan,Taiwan, Hong Kong and New Zealand. We reside in a large house, (260m2 of living space), 2 story, 7 bedroom house, (2 residences under one roof) high on a hill with views. Situated 5 minutes walk from parks, shopping, transport, tavern, restaurants and supermarket. Your room is located on the ground floor in our student flat with your own entrance and basic kitchen plus a bathroom. We've just installed air conditioners in all bedrooms and there is a small charge if you use your machine daily. In 2014, my family and I moved to Australia from China. I taught Chinese residents "Oral English" for 10 years there. From 2000-2004 (Before I went to China) in Brisbane city, I hosted many adult homestay students from all round the world and thoroughly enjoyed it. So now, I'm enjoying it this time together with my family. Our house is situated about 10 + km, north-west of the city centre. Our home is surrounded by nature reserves where you can see and hear a variety of Australian wildlife such as Kangaroos, Koalas, Kookaburras, Lorikeets and many more. It's located just a 5 minute walk to a local shopping plaza, with regular public transport, schools and great eating places. I'm an ex chef, so home cooked meals are quick & delicious. Evening meals are $5 extra. Book in advance. We live in a secure house with double glazed security windows to make our windows quiet as we live on a main road. Our house has insect/security screens and a monitored alarm. It's situated high on a hill and overlooks a shopping plaza. It has ample off street guest parking. Our suburb doesn't have a crime problem so many Brisbane residents prefer to live in this area. There are many younger families around us. Many are from all around the world such as Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Malaysian, Indonesian, African, Indian, German, American, British and so on. There are Chinese, Korean/Japanese, Indian and Thai restaurants plus British fast food such as Fish and chips, Subway and take away menus from the other restaurants mentioned all within walking distance. McDonalds and KFC are in the next suburb- 3km away. There's also several Large hospitals just 1.5-2.5 kms from here and there are many parks, playgrounds, kindergartens, medical centres, and great eating places-sit in and take away (fast food chains). We are lucky enough to have nice neighbours and the neighbourhood is safe. Your room is air conditioned and has a double bed with clothes drawers, bedside table, study desk/chair, closet, floor or desk top fan, wall mirror and access to wifi. Wifi weekly fee of $5. Our backyard is a little plain and a work in progress, as I am still renovating my home little by little, so I've yet to finish landscaping it. About us: I'm a not so young, overweight 1963 Caucasian male, Sociable and humorous. Lee is a 1982 Asian lady, with Australian citizenship. She's tall and slim and speaks both Chinese and English. Lee and has two young children, a very cute 4 year old girl (Angelina) who is a very lovely, creative, curious and happy child. And a 2 year old super cute baby boy named Leo and our oldest daughter is Jolie... 11 years old, looks 16 very tall, clever child. You will instantly become either their older sibling, Uncle, or Aunty. We don't smoke and the only person that drinks alcohol is me.... but it's minimal. Smoking is allowed as is praying, but cigarettes must be choked on outside in the smoking area. Praying is usually done when Lee cooks or drives the car or raises her voice .... ai you wei, crazy laowai ! Our favourite places to visit are Aspley Hypermarket, Chermside Westfield shopping precinct and Southbank Parklands along the Brisbane river in the CBD. Southbank is a great place to buy Crocodile steaks or dance with Koalas & has great swimming areas and an artificial beach with a fantastic market street and cool restaurants. It's also possible to swim in the Brisbane river that runs along side of Southbank, as long as you're ok with the odd Bull-Shark, Giant Electric Eels, Saltwater Crocodiles (Saltys), marine diesel from the river taxis and Armed Queensland Water Police with flippers and spear guns. Room(s): 1. Single Room (Asia Room (Ground-floor Student/Guest Flat)) with Shared bathroom Private entry from back yard. North facing Double room, sun block out blind, air conditioner/heat pump (extra charge) and a floor fan. The bathroom is shared with one other student. This room is 1.3m2 larger than the Orient room. Capacity: 1 Rates: 280.00 Weekly / 1100.00 Monthly 2. Single Room (Orient Room (Student/Guest Flat)) with Shared bathroom Private entry from back yard. East facing Double room. Double glazed window, sun block out blind, air conditioner/heat pump (extra charge) and desktop fan. This room is 1.3m2 smaller than the Asia room hence a reduction in price. Capacity: 1 Rates: 250.00 Weekly / 1000.00 Monthly House Rules: No smoking inside. Please either wipe your shoes on the outside door mat or take them off inside the entry door and place them onto the shoe rack. I can provide house shoes if you don't have your own. If you need to have a late night cigarette, then please exit your door, and quietly close insect screen door. Each day when you leave to go to work or school please lock main doors after you as wildlife could enter the house, such as Geckos or annoying flying insects. No Crocodiles, Snakes or Dingos.... I promise. There's also a garden table and chairs under a covered gazebo close to your entry door with ashtray for bad weather. No guests/friends are allowed to stay overnight in your room for security reasons. No loud talking or speaker-phone conversations after 9pm as it wakes our children and bothers the neighbours. There are young families all around us. Speak quietly with each other please. Night time Showers/Bathing needs to be over by 12 (Midnight) remember to turn off bathroom fan and light before you return to your room. If you prefer to hand-wash your underwear, please don't use the bathroom basin and no drip drying of clothes in your bedroom. I do all the laundry in my washing machine here, however.... if you're afraid of me handling your underwear, then you may use your kitchen tub, or use the red bucket under your bathroom basin inside the cupboard and hang your wet clothes on the outside drying line. There are many covered and open air drying lines outside. I wash towels once a week, clothes 2 times each week, and bed sheets every 3 weeks. Additional Info: We speak both English and Chinese in our house. Other languages are welcome, just no bad language. Local Amenities: Tennis, Gym, Swimming, Library, Shopping Centre, Local Bus Stop, Hospital, Park, Cinema, Health Club, Restaurant
Bus Stop

Rental Conditions

Bills Included

Contact Provider

Partner Listing

To contact the provider and to check for availability, please click on the button below.
You will be redirected to our partner's page.

Find more listings in Brisbane

Nearby Accommodations

protect yourself

NEVER send money or give credit card or online account details to anyone you do not know and trust.

Home Nearby